top of page

Bare all with Dan Hutchinson... The photographic truths.


Not to sure how this one is going to pan out guys so just stick with me and I shall do my best to get you all shooting great shots, hopefully.

I've been shooting since around 2003 / 2004 when I was handed a bunch of 35mm cameras from a family member who had sadly passed on. My mum used to load cameras up for me, then just send me on my merry way, you know sometimes I think she faked it just to get me out of her hair you know? I mean here is the super crazy part I must have seen maybe 2 or 3 rolls of filmed processed, screw it my imagination grew extensively as did my love for having a camera at hand.

Lets get started then you budding creatives!

Okay so lets break this right down gang. Shooting is a huge part of everyday life now for all of you, technology has blessed us with the camera phone which in my opinion is a great start for any of you.

So when you feel that need to shoot pull out your phone and shoot, becoming used to having that camera in your hand is second nature! I cannot stress enough how much you will progress just from looking an composing images with the simplest of cameras (your phone) because trust me you can own the most expensive kit on the market but if you cannot compose a shot you might as well give up.... Harsh but life isn't candy canes and rainbows.

Shot with IPhone 6

Quick example for you! Very open composition, lightly framed with the branched leaves around the top of the frame which closes your eye to the centre of the image. Another huge factor do not be afraid to under expose an image, it can help wonders with colour/tones within your image! People love colours especially landscape, sunset or sunrise.

My personal words of 'wisdom' connect with whatever it is you're shooting. How does the image speak to you on a personal level even before you take the picture, sit down for a moment take in your thoughts and then take your shot.

Just like anything you need to place yourself in situations where you know you will benefit or reek the rewards. You can't expect to shoot amazing landscapes sat in your garden, just like you can't shoot a city scape in the middle of the countryside... You dig? Adapt to your surroundings an never settle for average images.

Holiday and travel shooting for all you 'Blogger dreamers'

I love seeing you all flying around shooting great places I really do its fantastic!

Sadly I have received lots of mail and comments from good people who are struggling with creating images from their beautiful memories! This is just no good, I want you all to look back and think 'Oh can you remember how amazing this location was' and friends to say 'I wish I could see that place'.

Both of these were shot from a moving tour van window, this is a great point for me to prove 'always have your camera in your hand!' as we can't always stop and get the 'perfect' shot.

As far as composition goes with these shots I waited patiently with my eye pressed against the viewfinder watching the mountains rush by, sometimes its just a waiting game until bang you shoot... But trust me not every shot will come out so don't be disappointed, just smile an remember you still saw something very beautiful.

Portraiture, people and being a brave little photographer!

You want to know the secret to portraits, street work and actually creating life behind your images of people?

Well here we go, cameras don't kill people! Get involved with your subject, feel the emotions of your chosen location or country you may be documenting. Be intrigued by everything, force those feelings through the lens for everyone back home to see!

Create a world of emotion from your chosen format be it vibrant colours or the coldest black and white tones. I've spent years studying the great William Klein because he portrays life perfectly no matter where he shoots! Also another big key to shooting great images, do not be afraid to shoot like the greats it will help you learn different composure, lighting and other aspects needed for that perfect shot.

So there you have it an insight on my crazy little world behind the camera! I haven't gone into to much depth with technical knowledge because I feel that crushes the beginners excitement, there is nothing worse than a bunch of boring numbers and phrases that most of the time don't even help, you know what I'm saying right?

What i am going to do is leave my email address at the bottom of the page, I have a serious amount of time off the big and I am willing to help any of you who may email me with any questions you have at all!

Here are a few of my favourite images... I look forward to helping any of you guys and girls out there with your questions!

There we have it, bunch of work and a bunch of words!

Again please email me with any questions on shooting I am more than happy to teach you all for free!

Thanks,

52mmcollective@gmail.com

Instagram : @52mmcollective


bottom of page