top of page

Chuck Ragan causes emotions, Cool.


"I'm a dreamer and she knew it from the beginning, we could barely understand each others accents but she knew my mind inside and out."

Dan Hutchinson's inside voice, late April 2017.

I stepped into a perfectly quaint Brooklyn apartment to see the clean white open plan, dripping with beautiful graphic prints by NASA an hand drawn graphic pieces by the Lady.

NASA Posters.

It was a very humid day / afternoon I'd ridden a fair distance from 87th West down into and around Brooklyn already, which wasn't easy by a long shot. Through heavy traffic and following only my google maps when I could grab WIFI, to be truthful this really payed off learning the streets and the grid system...

Two ice cold Red Stripes and our love for music found us chatting as if we'd know each other for a century at least. The worst thing is I'd spend a lifetime on the couch with the lady, Red Stripes and Nutella pizza (I know you'll laugh when you read this Lady).

The couch an hand drawn graphic pieces.

Lady fed me, watered me and we fell in to one another. I cannot even begin to explain how much we laughed, said the words 'WHAT!?' When we could not understand each other... an of course fought over who's song choice was next, both of our choices were awesome every time.

Hot water music, Alkaline trio or Rufio are not bad choices if you ask me. (Chuck Ragan sings in Hot Water Music, hint)

Records for days, beautiful collection.

As the afternoon carried in to the evening we exchanged kisses, became close and shared some time laid together before the pizzas (all 3 of them may I add, Lady has a love for pizza). Soon after the pizza we were back to laying together, the humidity was relentless but the music and our closeness didn't falter.

I never sleep well, with or without someone next to me, so of course I was in an out of sleep all night but as we woke Lady said to me how nice it felt to be beside me, I concur (a typical Hank Moody reply, which I feel the lady enjoyed).

Struggle cuddle area.

From 9AM punk rock, dancing in bed together, showers and well we shared breakfast duty which worked out pretty well as I'm the bacon master and Lady introduced me to tomatoes in scrambled egg... Fine as wine, I shit you not!

Our day had only just begun, you see when a stunning beauty like Lady rolls over and suggests 'Shall we ride to Coney Island?' Well you say yes, because that is the only answer!

Rare sight of me cooking.

Lady was attempting to cook the bacon...

Roaming shortcuts through Prospect Park, admiring the colours of spring together, laughing at almost crashing into each other on every block whilst trying to either tickle Lady or sneak a kiss from her, whilst waiting for crossings (Lady was a safe rider, until she spent a day with me).

If I was to explain the moment we arrived at Coney Island, I would say its the happiest I've ever been. We was completely free, roaming the boardwalk and beach together. Again we shared beers and hotdogs this time around, prefect recipe for happiness is food, bikes and beers! Do not forget that.

There a whole bunch of photographs below what explained our day, please keep scrolling an enjoy our story as much as I do...

I'd do anything for this day again!

Hope these shots inspire you all to let loose and just be with someone who really makes you smile!?

We rode after maybe and hour or so, back into the city again fooling around on every block and of course we had a stop in the beautiful Prospect Park for a short break to admire the spring beauty... Also the Red Hook Crit guys love to ride laps there to keep the legs warm for the following days racing!

I'd love to say we 'shared' a ice cold bottle of water but by the time I had placed my bike down and shirt off Lady had almost drank all the water... Damn shame.

I almost forgot to mention, we love 'San Francisco by Scott Mckenzie', So here is some flowers in my hair but not quite in San Fran...Yet.

It was only a short ride back to Ladies apartment, we both freshened up and parted ways. She left me at her place whilst I waited for a friend to arrive, we said our goodbyes shared a damn great kiss and she was gone. Painful.

As fate would have it, we couldn't keep ourselves from each other. So as the Friday night came around we'd had our evenings apart with out friends but we wanted that feeling again of waking up next to each other, close and content.

Both slightly intoxicated but what good story starts with a salad?

Here is the very cliche part, we fell asleep innocently listening the the first thunder and lightning storm I've heard in a long time. It was fucking beautiful.

As lady says a morning full of loosing ourselves in the sheets was in order.

That out of the way humus and chips were for breakfast but sadly the goodbye that followed those delicious chips was for real this time. As I rode away I never looked back just incase I had to see her again wave goodbye.

Now I'm sat on a plane, stuck between watching the sunrise out of my window and some guy who's around 5 hours deep into 'How I met your mother' episodes.... I'm not sad because the time e shared is worth o much more then I'd ever imagined.

To see how happy we made each other taught me a lot,

'Living in the biggest city in the world, you can still be very lonely and I'm glad we was there for one another'

At the the end of our story I sit here thinking "Where and when Lady?"

If you need me I'll be in the bath listening to Hot Water Music and Alkaline Trio split.

Music will never be the same Lady.


bottom of page